Siegenthaler Foundation: Promoting Junior Researchers

The Walter and Gertrud Siegenthaler Foundation hands out two awards each year to promote junior medical researchers at the Faculty of Medicine of the University of Zurich.

Most German-speaking physicians are familiar with the name Siegenthaler.  The highly talented Gertrud Siegenthaler was the senior physician for internal medicine at the Swiss Nursing School in Zurich and later served as chief of service at the UniversityHospital Zurich. Her husband, Walter Siegenthaler, also dedicated his life to medicine.  As head of clinic, physician, teacher and author, he led an active life. Walther Siegenthaler had an excellent reputation among his peers and was also well known by the general public.  With his great passion for teaching, he was a highly popular professor and member of the teaching staff.  His work was honored with several awards.

The Board of Trustees is composed of the following persons:

  • Prof. Dr. Beatrice Beck Schimmer, Vice President Medicine UZH, Chair
  • Prof. Dr. em. Edouard Battegay
  • Prof. Dr. Matthias Baumgartner, Head of Center for Rare Diseases Kispi
  • Prof. Dr. Pierre-Alain Clavien, Department of Visceral Surgery and Transplantation USZ
  • Prof. Dr. Oliver Distler, Director Department of Rheumatology USZ
  • Prof. Dr. Huldrych Günthard, Department of Infectious Diseases and Hospital Epidemiology USZ
  • Prof. Dr. Emanuela Keller, Institute for Intensive Care Medicine USZ
  • Prof. Dr. Holger Moch, Director Institute of Pathology and Molecular Pathology USZ
  • Prof. Dr. Darius Moradpour, Head of Institute for Gastroenterology and Hepatology CHUV
  • Prof. Dr. Anne Müller, Institute of Molecular Cancer Research UZH
  • Prof. Dr. Hanns Ulrich Zeilhofer, Institute of Pharmacology and Toxicology UZH

Award ceremony at the Dies Academicus

On the occasion of his 80th birthday in 2003, Walter Siegenthaler established the Walter and Gertrud Siegenthaler Foundation to promote junior researchers at UZH’s Faculty of Medicine.  Each year, the foundation hands out two separate awards on the occasion of Dies academicus: A research grant and a science award.

Research Fellowship

The foundation presents young researchers in the Faculty of Medicine with grants for research purposes in Switzerland and abroad for a duration of one to two years. The research grant is worth CHF 60,000 per year.

Requirements Research Fellowship

Application Form Research Fellowship


2021 Research Grant

Dr. med. Dr. sc. nat. Andrea A. Mauracher, physician at the University Children’s Hospital Zurich, General Pediatrics, topic: “Mechanisms of human CD8 T cell dysfunction in monogenic disorders of STAT signaling”.

Science Award

The foundation presents its science award to excellent young researchers at the UZH Faculty of Medicine for outstanding scientific achievements at an internationally competitive level in the area of clinical or translational medical research.  The award comes with prize money of CHF 20,000.

Requirements Science Award

Application Form Science Award


2021 Award Winner

Dr. med. (I) Stefano Luigi Barco, PhD, physician at the Clinic for Angiology at the UniversityHospital Zurich in recognition of his outstanding research in epidemiology and risk-adjusted treatment of venous thromboembolism and its associated long-term complications.

Apply for an Award

Please fill in the relevant application form and submit it by 1 December along with the requested documents as 1 PDF by e-mail to:

PD Dr. Ulrike Weber
+41 44 634 48 13